I Was Looking At The Ceiling Then I Saw The Sky

2020 February 13 › 23
Watch out, it's gonna rock!

Watch out, it's gonna rock!

I Was Looking At The Ceiling Then I Saw The Sky

Pop Opera John Adams / June Jordan / Vincent Renaud / Eugen Jebeleanu

2020 February 13 › 23

Thu 13 ›  20h
Fri 14 ›  20h
Sat 15 ›  19h30
Sun 16 ›  15h
Tue 18 ›  20h
Wed 19 ›  20h
Thu 20 ›  20h
Sat 22 ›  19h30
Sun 23 ›  15h
Théâtre de la Croix-Rousse — main auditorium
 1h50

A group of young people are carried away by a whirlwind of emotions when an earthquake disrupts their certainties.

Los Angeles 1994. A violent earthquake shakes the city. « I was looking at the ceiling and then I saw the sky », said a witness at the time. John Adams, one of the greatest living American composer and his librettist June Jordan portray seven young characters (Black, White, Asian and Hispanic) who will see their destiny change dramatically during the earthquake. In the libretto, the natural disaster triggers a succession of contrasting situations full of humour but also a love story, drawing a fresco of the urban society and its contradictions.

Produced in 1995, the tremendously original I Was Looking At The Ceiling And Then I Saw The Sky falls under the rock musical category rather than the opera. Just like Gershwin and Bernstein before him with jazz, Adams captures the energy of rock music to associate it with classical music. With a downsized orchestra mixing traditional instruments, synthesizers and electric guitars, he builds this frantic « story in songs » like a pop album stringing twenty different tracks successively. The young stage director Eugen Jebeleanu, whose work questions the notions of social standards, identity and freedom between Romania and France, will take a European look at this American opera.

opéra de lyon

production team

composition John Adams | libretto June Jordan | musical direction Vincent Renaud | stage direction Eugen Jebeleanu | Instrumental ensembleSingers of the Studio of the Opéra de Lyon | Lighting design François Menou | Stage director assistant Gaëlle Hersant

production: Opéra de Lyon | coproduction: Théâtre de la Croix-Rousse – Lyon & La Criée – Théâtre National de Marseille

biography

Eugen Jebeleanu is a Romanian stage director and playwright. He works in Romania, Germany and France. Since 2010, he has been directing fables dealing with social and political issues with the purpose to question the notion of social, identity and freedom norms. De facto his artistic approach consists in giving a voice to anonymous individuals, to non-heroes who don’t belong to the majority and don’t adhere to the “Dominant Culture”, building a theatre open to dissenting voices, to what is on the fringe and to rebellions against systems which oppress our efforts to assert our freedom of speech. In 2010 he founds Compania 28 with Yann Verburgh in Romania.  Within this theatre company, between 2010 and 2015, he creates several shows as stage director, including don’t cry baby (translated from German and published by Theater der Zeit Publishing House in 2015), RETOX –  Romania is a photocopied Western country (text selected in the 2014 shortlist of the Eurodram, European Network of Playwright Translation) and She is a good boy. In 2015, he is invited by the National Theatre of Sibiu where he stages The 20th of Novembre by Lars Nören, Families (his last text) and A View from the Bridge by Arthur Miller. In 2017 in Germany he stages The Billy Goat by R.W. Fassbinder at the National Theatre of Stuttgart and in France Ogres by Y. Verburgh. In 2018, invited by the Comédie de Valence-CDN, he directs Digital Natives by Y. Verburgh, Feminin by Elise Wilk at the Youth Theatre of Piatra Neamt in Romania and Life on Roosevelt Square by Dea Loher at the Wilhelma Theater in Stuttgart. In 2019 he stages ITINÉRARIES One Day The World Will Change by Y. Verburgh and starts directing for the cinema with a first feature film, winner of the CNC production in Romania. His productions are programmed in many festivals in Romania, Poland, Danemark, Germany and in Moldova. In France his productions are programmed at the Théâtre Ouvert, Tinel de la Chartreuse, Théâtre de Vanves, CDN de Caen, CDN de Béthune, CDN de Valence, Maison de la Culture d’Amiens, Gallia de Saintes, Théâtre Paul Eluard de Choisy-le-Roi,  Théâtre Joliette in Marseille… He also works with the Théâtre de la Ville on the European Project (Chantiers d’Europe) and with the Festival Actoral.

links

  • Q&A after the performance
    Wednesday the 19th of february
  • book
    2020 February 13 › 23
    Thu 13 › 
    Fri 14 › 
    Sat 15 › 
    Sun 16 › 
    Tue 18 › 
    Wed 19 › 
    Thu 20 › 
    Sat 22 › 
    Sun 23 › 
    Théâtre de la Croix-Rousse — main auditorium

      1h50

    in English subtitled in French

    tarifs

    Seats
    from 5 to 27€ 
    prices

    contact

    Box office

    +334 72 07 49 49

    Send a message

I Was Looking At The Ceiling Then I Saw The Sky

13 › 23 février
attention, séisme rock'n roll

attention, séisme rock'n roll

I Was Looking At The Ceiling Then I Saw The Sky

opéra John Adams / June Jordan / Vincent Renaud / Eugen Jebeleanu

13 › 23 février

jeu 13 ›  20h
ven 14 ›  20h
sam 15 ›  19h30
dim 16 ›  15h
mar 18 ›  20h
mer 19 ›  20h
jeu 20 ›  20h
sam 22 ›  19h30
dim 23 ›  15h
Théâtre de la Croix-Rousse — Grande Salle
 1h50 env.
en création

Un tourbillon d’émotions emporte un groupe de jeunes gens lorsqu’un tremblement de terre fait valser leurs certitudes.

Los Angeles 1994. Un violent tremblement de terre secoue la ville. «J’ai regardé le plafond et soudain j’ai vu le ciel», dira alors un témoin. John Adams, l’un des grands compositeurs américains vivants et sa librettiste June Jordan font le portrait de sept jeunes personnages différents (Noirs, Blancs, Asiatiques et Hispaniques) qui vont voir leur destin basculer lors du séisme. Dans le livret, la catastrophe naturelle provoque une suite de situations contrastées et pleines d’humour mais aussi une histoire d’amour qui dessinent une fresque de la société urbaine et de ses contradictions.

Créé en 1995, le très original I Was Looking At The Ceiling And Then I Saw The Sky tient plus de la comédie musicale rock que de l’opéra. Comme Gershwin et Bernstein avant lui pour le jazz, Adams capte l’énergie du rock pour l’associer à la musique classique. Avec un orchestre réduit qui mélange instruments traditionnels, synthétiseurs et guitares électriques, il construit cette trépidante «histoire en chansons» comme un album pop en enchaînant vingt titres successifs. C’est le jeune metteur en scène Eugen Jebeleanu dont le travail interroge les notions de normes sociales, d’identité et de liberté entre la Roumanie et la France qui portera un regard européen engagé sur cet opéra américain. »

opéra de lyon

distribution / production

composition John Adams | livret June Jordan | direction musicale Vincent Renaud | mise en scène Eugen Jebeleanu | Ensemble instrumental, Chanteurs du Studio de l’Opéra de Lyon | lumières François Menou | assistante à la mise en scène Gaëlle Hersant

production: Opéra de Lyon | coréalisation: Théâtre de la Croix-Rousse – Lyon et La Criée – Théâtre National de Marseille

biographie

Eugen Jebeleanu est un metteur en scène et auteur roumain. Il travaille en Roumanie, en Allemagne et en France. Depuis 2010, il met en scène des fables qui traitent de questions de société, de sujets politiques et sociaux, afin d’interroger les notions de normes sociales, d’identité et de liberté. De fait, sa démarche artistique est de donner voix à des individus anonymes, des non-héros qui n’appartiennent pas à la majorité et qui n’adhèrent pas à la « culture dominante », construisant un théâtre ouvert aux voix minoritaires, à ce qui est en marge, aux révoltes contre des systèmes qui oppriment nos initiatives afin d’affirmer notre liberté d’expression. En 2010, il fonde en Roumanie, avec Yann Verburgh, Compania 28. Au sein de cette compagnie, entre 2010 et 2015, il crée en tant que metteur en scène et auteur plusieurs spectacles, parmi lesquels : dontcrybaby (traduit en allemand et publié aux Editions Theater der Zeit en 2015), RETOX – la Roumanie est un pays occidental photocopié (texte sélectionné dans le Palmarès 2014 d’Eurodram, réseau européen de traduction théâtrale) et Elle est un bon garçon. En 2015, il est invité par le Théâtre Gong de Sibiu pour créer Alice de Yann Verburgh. Depuis 2016, il est associé au Théâtre National de Sibiu où il met en scène Le 20 novembre de Lars Nören, Familles (son dernier texte) et Vue du pont d’Arthur Miller. En 2017, il met en scène en Allemagne Le Bouc de R.W. Fassbinder au Théâtre National de Stuttgart et en France Ogres de Y. Verburgh. En 2018, à l’invitation de la Comédie de Valence-CDN, il met en scène Digital Natives de Y. Verburgh, Feminin d’Elise Wilk au Théâtre de la Jeunesse de Piatra Neamt en Roumanie et La vie sur la Place Roosevelt de Dea Loher au Wilhelma Theater de Stuttgart. En 2019 il met en scène ITINÉRAIRES un jour le monde changera de Y. Verburgh et fait ses premiers pas au cinéma, à la réalisation, avec un long-métrage lauréat de l’aide à la production du CNC, en Roumanie. Ses créations sont programmées dans des nombreux festivals en Roumanie, en Pologne, au Danemark, en Allemagne et en Moldavie. En France ses créations sont programmées au Théâtre Ouvert, au Tinel de la Chartreuse, au Théâtre de Vanves, au CDN de Caen, au CDN de Béthune, au CDN de Valence, à la Maison de la Culture d’Amiens, au Gallia de Saintes, au ThéâtrePaul Eluard de Choisy-le-Roi, au Théâtre Joliette à Marseille… Il collabore également avec le Théâtre de la Ville pour les Chantiers d’Europe et avec le Festival Actoral.

en écho

  • bord de scène
    mercredi 19 février à l’issue de la représentation
  • vous aimerez aussi

  • The Pajama Game
    L'amour au temps de la grève!
    18 › 29 décembre
    dès 12 ans
    comédie musicale
  • Martien Martienne
    Quand une Martienne rêve d'un astronaute...
    11 › 14 décembre
    dès 8 ans
    théâtre musical
  • Hommage à Mstislav Rostropovitch
    La chute du mur a 30 ans.
    09 novembre
    concert
  • réserver
    13 › 23 février
    jeu 13 › 
    ven 14 › 
    sam 15 › 
    dim 16 › 
    mar 18 › 
    mer 19 › 
    jeu 20 › 
    sam 22 › 
    dim 23 › 
    Théâtre de la Croix-Rousse — Grande Salle

      1h50 env.

    en anglais surtitré en français

    tarifs

    forfaits Croix-Rousse
    tarifs dégressifs dès 2 spectacles de 5 à 23€ la place
    places à l'unité
    de 5 à 27€ la place
    pass 15/15
    15€ mon pass puis 15€ mes places
    détails des tarifs
    Espace presse